| There are a whole range of these sorts of Paypal scams and hoaxes. Basically the rule of thumb is this Paypal will use your first name and your last name in any emails to you. If you are unsure whether the email you have is from Paypal check the Paypal Security Centre . Another way to tell is if it looks like the email has been written by someone that isn't used to writing in English, like the one below. Here is a sample scam: We recently have determined that different computers have logged into your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before the login. One of our Customer Service employees has already tryed to telephonically reach you. As our employee did not manage to reach you, this email has been sent to your notice. Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your identity in order to regain full privileges of your account. If this is not completed by July 15, 2005, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account indefinitly, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner. To confirm your identity please follow the link below: This is the link that appears in the email https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run This is the actual hidden link that you will be sent to if you click on the link above. It is very different. Basically it takes you to a phony website. We have another article on phony websites, so I won't get into that here.
http://paypal.com.login-user7671.info/webscr.php?cmd=LogIn
The domain you are being sent to is login-user7671.info . It has nothing to do with Paypal and it is registered to a Michelle Ogata phone no. +1.5453453534
Thank you for your patience in this matter.
PayPal - Customer Service
Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered
This is what is known as Phishing (pronounced fishing) . This site has been set up to specifically steal your user name and address. If you go to the link you will also see that whilst it looks like a Paypal page none of the links work. Thanks to Pam for sending this in.
|